God’s To-Do List

pen-calendar-to-do-checklist.jpg

“I’m just one hundred and one, five months and a day.”
“I can’t believe that!” said Alice.
“Can’t you?” the Queen said in a pitying tone. “Try again: draw a long breath, and shut your eyes.”
Alice laughed. “There’s no use trying,” she said: “one can’t believe impossible things.”
“I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.

Lewis Caroll was probably crazy (all good people are), but this quote here is gold. I wouldn’t recommend basing your life around the White Queen’s advice, but here I think she spouts some rare wisdom.

“Six impossible things before breakfast.”

That could be a good habit for Christians to develop as well. Perhaps every Christian’s morning should begin like this: Bible + coffee (unless you’re carnal) + prayer + six impossible things.

I don’t mean mindless recitation of impossible things – like that ever did anyone any good. The motivational coach, disguised as a prosperity preacher, might tell you to “declare it so.” St. Joel instructs us to say every morning, “This is going to be a great day. I’m excited about my future. Something good is going to happen to me.” And poof! It’ll be so!

What God has been working on me lately is to insert the impossible into my prayers. Not impossible things that only serve my interests. For instance, instantly losing twenty pounds and being super buff is impossible – but God isn’t going to grant that to me (but if He wants to, He’s more than welcome to!). That’s like asking for time to reverse so you have more time to study for your exam. Can God do it? Yeah. Will He? No. Sorry not sorry.

I’m talking about asking for impossible things that you believe would bring God glory. Things that He’s already promised in His Word – and yet seem impossible by human standards.

For instance, let me give you my list:

  1. For my church to experience growth, unity, and financial soundness even though we don’t have a pastor. (Impossible according to anyone familiar with what happens when a pastor leaves.)
  2. For me to have total victory over an indwelling sin. (I’ve tried and tried and failed and failed.)
  3. For me to be totally selfless in my conversations and conduct around people. (My friends know just how impossible this is!)
  4. For God to save the souls of my Muslim friends.
  5. For me to be bold in sharing the Gospel with all those I meet. (It’s just not in my blood to do it – mostly because my blood flows with depravity. And I’m a coward…)
  6. For God to awaken and save the Junior Highers so they ALL become passionate about serving Him and hating sin.

Six impossible things. There is no way any one of those things could ever happen if it were left up to me.

I can barely screw the lid of my water bottle on right – much less save someone’s soul. I can barely resist the urge to eat a whole pizza every time I see one – much less deny the fleshly impulses rooted in my depraved DNA and in many years of failure. I can’t even remember people’s names – much less transform them into the image of Christ!

I can’t. But God can.

He can do all six of those things. And I believe He will! Maybe not as I want it. Maybe not as fast as I desire. But He will work in lives. He will change me. He will not be stopped. Nothing is impossible to Him.

I have a task management app that keeps my head screwed on straight. I have various lists for various roles and projects. But my favorite list is the one I labeled, “God’s To-Do List.”

I thought that since I have so many to-dos, I better give God some to-dos or I’ll never have the strength to do mine! Not that I am commanding God to do things. I mean it more as a list of requests – some impossible things that I am asking God to do. It’s comforting putting a request on that list. “Heal so-and-so. Work in this friend’s life. Save _____.” And then to go back and check things off the list.

Not things I did – things that only God could do! Six (or more) impossible things that I’ve asked God to do…maybe even before breakfast!

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. -Eph. 3:20-21

-M@

Leave a Reply

