Goals

Gooooooooaaaaaaaallllll!!!!!!

No, I’m not talking about the soccer futbol championships currently ongoing. I’m talking about having goals – that is, a direction to head in. A purpose.

No, not squad goals. Or relationship goals. LIFE goals.

goalsI’ve been thinking a lot about that recently, ever since I returned from my trip overseas. What are my life goals? I think I know what I want to do when if I grow up.But what direction am I heading in? What do I want to accomplish in my life? What is my purpose statement?

Many books and blogs talk about your passions, interests, and ambitions. A good Christian author will encourage readers to pursue a passion for God. Or perhaps better, pursue your passions as a way to glorify God. God has gifted you for a reason. Use what He’s given you a passion for to expand His kingdom.

That’s my goal: simply, to glorify God.

That looks good on paper, could be made into a hashtag even…but 1.) It’s hard to live out! 2.) It lacks specificity.

HOW am I going to glorify God? I could glorify God by being a doctor (but I hate blood), a businessman (but I hate numbers), a plumber (ew!), a butcher, a baker, or a candlestick maker! I could glorify God through music, art, movie-making, writing, eating (yes!), or basket-weaving!

College is a time to specify your life direction. Coming out of high school, if you’re like me, you have a ton of different “talents” that you’re a tiny bit good at. You can try to be good at them all – good luck! If you’re wise (and have wise influences like my parents and teachers), you’ll focus on one or the other. I’m not sure I intentionally chose one, but God worked in my life so that I’ve ended up focusing on a couple. I’ve thrown aside acting, sports (thankfully!), writing fiction books, music…and now I’m focusing on one all-encompassing thing and seeking to do my very best at it.

It’s just one word. And it actually comes from Matthew 28:19-20:

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

Do you see it? The word’s not actually in the verse. But the concept certainly is. It’s found in the idea of making disciples AND teaching those disciples to live as Jesus commanded.

Wait. Rabbit trail. Do you think maybe that idea should be the goal of every Christian? If this is Jesus’ last command to us, the reason we’re on this planet, the main job we’ve been given to do…don’t you think it should be every Christian’s goal. Now, how to apply it will be different. We are each to use our talents to disciple people in our life contexts. But anyway. End rabbit trail.

Connect.

That’s my word. I made it extra big. But just in case, here’s a cool pic of the word:

connect s

Now what do I mean by that? Because the word connect is almost as vague as the term “glorify God.” Good observation! Like any good preacher, I have some subpoints for that word.

Life goal: I want to connect people to God:

  1. Connect unbelievers to Jesus (evangelism).
  2. Connect believers to Jesus (edification).
  3. Connect believers to believers (mentoring).
  4. Connect believers to unbelievers (missions).
    • Particularly in Muslim countries.
    • Particularly through social media (my current job) or other “secular” skills.

I love introducing people. But the greatest introduction I could possibly make would be introducing everyone I meet to Jesus.

Connecting every soul I see to my Savior.

I like it. I think I’ll run with that.

set goalsIt helps to write out your goals. I’ve been doing it a lot at work as I try to figure out how to sort through my new-found hoards of emails and files and get things done. Organizing my files has inspired me to organize my soul.

Goals frame life around what you should be doing…and what you shouldn’t. Honestly, most of what I do in a day is NOT accomplishing this goal.

And how can I possibly connect people to God if I’m disconnected to Him myself? So sanctification in my own soul has to be thrown in there. And a lot of junk has to be thrown out.

It’s time to organize my life. It’s time to clean the skeletons out of the closet and burn a lot of junk. Anything that doesn’t meet this goal has to go.

I would love to get to the point that in every conversation I have, every person I see, every place I walk into, I immediately think: “How can I connect these souls here with my Jesus?”

-M@

Leave a Reply

