Carpet Bomb

Apathy has no place in a war zone.

The apathetic soldier is the first one shot by the sniper. The apathetic general is always outmaneuvered. The apathetic President can never defeat terrorism.

isisAnd that’s the situation we find ourselves in now. With all due respect, I feel our current administration has an apathetic attitude toward the rising dangers of ISIS. They mean well, but they are just not fighting them with all the gusto they could. Political pressures (and correctness) has boxed them into a passionless battle strategy. Sure, we’re bombing ISIS targets here a little, there a little…but what successes are we having? It took Assad to retake Palmyra. And we’re still waiting to retake Mosul (hopefully soon). Meanwhile, ISIS strikes repeatedly at Western targets.

Paris. San Bernardino. Now Brussels. Where’s next?

Like it or not, ISIS has declared war on us. They see us as “Satan”–the remnants of the crusading Rome that must be fully annihilated. This is not an enemy to mess with. This is an enemy with radical hatred and Western citizenship. It’s only a matter of time before they strike next…on American soil.

And what are we doing to stop them? Arguing about whether or not we should use the words “radical Muslim terrorism.” This reeks of pure apathy.

But you know what? So does my strategy against lust. It’s really a stinging analogy. Just as our administration is not taking ISIS seriously, I fear I’m not taking my fleshly lusts very seriously. My sin is chopping off the heads of my spirituality while I struggle with how to describe it to others without sounding too “sinful.” I may bomb it every now and again–really have a nice prayer of repentance after falling or tell a friend how horrible I am. But I’m not really dedicated to destroying it.

But make no mistake: my lusts have declared war on me, like it or not. 1 Peter 2:11 makes that clear:

Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul.

That word for “wage war” is used of encamped armies in Greek. This is serious stuff. My flesh is not apathetic about fighting me. Satan and his minions are not lethargic in my temptation. No, my lusts have a driving passion to see me defeated. My purity wiped out. My life leveled.

And yet I’m apathetic in my fight with them. A little upset that I keep struggling. Frustrated at the continual temptation. But what am I willing to do about it?

politifact-photos-carpet_bomberI should take the advice of my good friend Senator Cruz: “We will carpet bomb ISIS into oblivion. I don’t know if sand can glow in the dark, but we’re going to find out!”

Now that’s some passion! I’m not sure if it’s that simple, but I appreciate the gusto. We need to be fired up about defeating our fired-up enemy.

It’s time to carpet bomb my lusts into oblivion. And it’s easier for me–I don’t have to worry about political correctness or civilian casualties. In fact, I’m not sure it’s possible to be too passionate about defeating sin. So long as the passion is motivated by the power of the Spirit of God. Because, believe me, doing it on my own doesn’t work (been there, done that). But with the power of God at my back, I–or rather, God can defeat my lusts. I can abstain. I can have victory in Christ alone.

isisairstrikeBut it won’t come from being apathetic. I’ve got to get up, grab a sword, and start fighting–or better yet, climb up into the bomber and let ‘er rip! Nothing is off-limits. If it causes me to stumble, I’m gonna get rid of it. Convenience is nice, but what does it profit me if it helps the enemy get a foothold? I want to do whatever it takes to destroy my lusts, because they’re doing whatever it takes to destroy me.

Show no mercy. Give no quarter. Stand. Fight. Win!

I don’t know if lusts will glow in the dark, but we’re going to find out!

-M@

Leave a Reply

