List of Enemies

enemies-list

I had an interesting conversation with some friends this week. We were jokingly talking about formulating a list of “enemies”–people we don’t like. I made the pious announcement: “I have no enemies on my list. I get along with everyone! Well, except one person…” (Hint: his name starts with “Tr” and ends with “ump”).

war roomThen this weekend, taking advantage of the feet upon feet of snow that we got here in South Carolina (okay, it was just an inch, but still…), I watched the new Christian movie “War Room.” The movie centers around prayer–setting aside a “war room” where you petition the Father for your family. An inspiring movie…

At one point, Miss Clara tells the main character, who’s struggling with her marriage,

“God is a good defense attorney. Let him handle it and then turn your attention to the real enemy… Kick the real enemy out of your home. It’s time for you to fight, Elizabeth.”

claraAnd so she does! She “kicks” Satan out of her house (letting the door hit him on the way out) and chucks him off the back porch–only in the power of the name of Jesus, of course. “This house is under new management,” she boldly states.

You go, girl!

The point is clear: I must focus on fighting my real enemies. I get so caught up with the annoying people in my life, with people who don’t treat me right or politicians that make me want to scream. I fill up my “enemies list” page by page and declare war on them.

But I think I need to throw away this enemy list. And start a new one…

At the top of it I’ll put this name: “Satan.” And right under that will be another: “Matthew Wells.” I’ve figured it out: I am my own enemy. My “old man” has done more to hurt me than any other human ever could. Satan uses that part of me as his beachhead into my life to DESTROY me!

And I’m sick of it! It’s time to fight. To declare war on myself and Satan.

Colossians 3 has been helpful to me in this regard:

“Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity,passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry” (vs. 5).

It’s time to have an execution! Get the noose ready. Plug in the electric chair. It’s time to kill…me. All my selfishness, pride, and lust. Sorry, not sorry. It’s time for you to die, old man. Every stinkin’ day, I’m gonna take a knife and plunge it into your black heart! You and Satan both!

What about the other people in my life who certainly act like “enemies”? The movie (and the Bible) have an answer for them: PRAY! That’s how this war can be won: with the nuclear arsenal of prayer. Yet, I find that I do often pray for people…but the only reason I pray for them is so I can text them and tell them. Just so I can look “godly” and be liked. How ridiculous! Even my good works have been conquered by the enemy!

No longer! This body is under new management. And no, I’m not talking about myself. I’ve tried to make myself good, but I’ve only made myself even worse. I’m talking about giving control over to Jesus. As verse three says,

For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.”

Christ is my life. He’s in control. And if He is to remain so, I’m gonna need to talk to Him often. I’m gonna need to be best friends with Him. I’m gonna need the Father’s strength for this. I’m gonna need to have a “war room” of prayer. For myself. And for those who once were on my “enemy” list.

It’s a bit shorter now…

My Enemies:

  1. Satan
  2. Matthew Wells

-MW

Leave a Reply

