The Son Has Won

Martin-Resurrection-Morning

Based on Colossians 2:9-15:

Alas, the Sovereign of the world

Has bled and died in pain.

The Devil’s vict’ry flag’s unfurled–

It seems he’s won the day.

The demons shout when He cries, “Done!”

They sing o’er His bloodshed.

It’s for my sin they killed the Son!

But He will not stay dead.


The Son has won! The Son has won!

And now Satan must cower.

He cancelled sin, dawned like the sun.

He triumphed o’er each pow’r!

The climax of all history–

When evil lost the game,

When Jesus won the victory,

 When He came out the grave.


Alas, the greatness of my sin–

Oh, there’s no hope for me!

The devil rules my heart within,

And I cannot be free.

But just when I think evil wins,

I see a light break in.

The risen Son has born my sins,

And now in Him, I win.


The Son has won! The Son has won!

And now Satan must cower.

He cancelled sin, dawned like the sun.

He triumphed o’er each pow’r!

The climax of all history–

When evil lost the game,

When Jesus won the victory,

 When He came out the grave.


Alleluia, Christ is in me–

The fullness of my God,

The head of all authority,

I stand in joyful awe.

With Him, I died to death in sin,

Was buried in the grave.

With Him, I’m raised alive again.

And He my sin forgave!


The Son has won! The Son has won!

And now Satan must cower.

He cancelled sin, dawned like the sun.

He triumphed o’er each pow’r!

The climax of all history–

When evil lost the game,

When Jesus won the victory,

 When He came out the grave.

-M@

Leave a Reply

