Wandering

IMG_0506

Based on 2 Corinthians 5:17:

God, I feel so prone to wander,
To drift back into my sin.
Once again, my time’s been squandered.
And soon I’ll do it again.
I’m so prone to leave You, Father,
Though I claim to love You more.
I’m not sure why I have bothered
With this losing, useless war.

God, I beg You–come and change me–
Me, the wretched, sinful scum!
In Christ, I know You can make me
A new me–Your creation.

God, I feel so weak and weary,
But I know You never are.
You are always working on me
Fixing all my broken parts.
Out with the old and in with new–
You began Your work in me.
And till the end You’ll see it through,
Until I’m who I’m to be.

God, I beg You–come and change me–
Me, the wretched, sinful scum!
In Christ, I know You can make me
A new me–Your creation.

God, I feel in debt to Your grace.
Daily I feel its strong pull,
Changing me more like Your Son’s Face,
Until I’m with goodness full.
Let me not get so discouraged
With my slow fight against sin,
But in my Savior find courage–
And bind my wandering heart to Him.

God, I beg You–come and change me–
Me, the wretched, sinful scum!
In Christ, I know You can make me
A new me–Your creation.

-M@

Leave a Reply

