The Cost

Pick_up_your_CrossBased on Mark 8:34-35:

My Jesus stands with open arms
And beckons me to run.
He calls me to embrace the harm
That comes to those who come.
He’s ready to forgive and free–
He’s ready to transform.
But He has one question for me:
“Will you come if there’s a storm?”

“O Child, will you take up your Cross
And let your life be lost?
If you trust Me, count all but loss
And fully count the cost.”

To follow Christ means to deny
Myself, my plans, my fun.
To follow Christ means I must die
To all but God’s dear Son.
My family, friends, my own life too
Must seem as things I hate
When viewed beside my love that’s true.
For the One I truly crave.

“O Child, will you take up your Cross
And let your life be lost?
If you trust Me, count all but loss
And fully count the cost.”

My Jesus stands and waits for me
To choose Him or choose sin.
He’s promised to be all I need,
But that path seems so grim.
“Yes, it’s so hard to follow Me,
You won’t get all that stuff.
You won’t get fame or fancy free.
But I promise I’m enough.”

So yes, I will take up my cross
And let my life be lost!
I trust You, Christ, and count all lost
And fully count the cost.

-M@

Leave a Reply

