At This Table Gathered Round

1024px-TraditionalThanksgiving

Keep Calm and Read a Modern Psalm Based on 1 Thessalonians 5:23-24:

Here at this table, gathered round,

My family sits and eats.

From every plate the food abounds,

As we begin this feast.

And as I turn and look around

And think on each person,

I see that some have let me down,

And some sought their own ends.

For every family has its flaws,

As through this life we plod.

We all have broken every law,

But that is not my God.

My God is faithful in His call,

And He will see me through.

He will preserve me for long haul,

And will be always true.

Here at this table, gathered round,

The food is packed in tight.

The turkey’s stuffed, the stuffing’s downed,

As each one takes each bite.

And as we gorge on every dish,

We think we’re satisfied.

But that’s a dream, a silly wish,

That only feeds our pride.

Though we eat much, still every day,

We’ll hunger still for more.

The food we eat will pass away,

But that is not my Lord.

My Lord is faithful in His call,

And He will see me through.

He will preserve me for long haul,

And will be always true.

Here at this table, gathered round,

I look into my heart.

I see in me the same bad things,

I saw in every part.

For as I think o’er this past year,

I see much sin and lust.

To share the Gospel, I had fear,

Nor was I very just.

My many friends I have let down,

I’ve made so many sad.

But I am thankful that I’ve found,

That that is not my Dad.

My Dad is faithful in His call,

And He will see me through.

He will preserve me for long haul,

And will be always true.

-Matthew W., SC

Leave a Reply

