Satisfaction Guaranteed

Keep Calm and Read a Psalm 81:13-16:

“Oh, that My people would listen to Me,
That Israel would walk in My ways!
I would soon subdue their enemies,
And turn My hand against their adversaries.
The haters of the Lord would pretend submission to Him,
But their fate would endure forever.
He would have fed them also with the finest of wheat;
And with honey from the rock I would have satisfied you.”

Zurich, Switzerland is a perfect place to layover when coming back from the heart of Africa. It was like a blast of Alpine air walking into that crystal-clean airport, with shops on every side offering all the luxuries of Swiss living: watches, army knives, and…chocolate!

We wandered from shop to shop until we came into the den of amazingness: an official Lindt Chocolate Shop, with enough truffles to kerfuffle Mr. Hershey himself! They even had a “Chocolate Bar”—minus the alcohol (although you would probably need a designated driver after all that sugar). With the wide eyes of deprived Americans coming from five weeks in Africa, we wandered around that store, just basking in the glory of fine chocolate. Then, I stumbled upon the mother lode—chocolate ice cream!

Now, I made a resolution at the beginning of the year to not eat ice cream, and I’d been pretty faithful. Well, in Africa I did have some, since it was one of the few sweet things we could find to eat. Now, in scrumptious Switzerland, I had to choose: healthiness or delectable, extraordinary, awe-inspiring chocolate ice cream? “Would you like to sample?” Goodbye healthiness!

That bite. That one bite of ice cream sent me to the seventh level of ice cream wonder. I had to exit the store quickly before I jumped over the counter and attacked the man holding the ice cream scooper. But as soon as we left, a compatriot told me it was not right for us to sample some and not to buy any. You didn’t have to ask me twice.

I got a small bowl of white chocolate ice cream. Ahhhhhhhhh…the memory of it makes me want to lick my fingers to find one last molecule of that 7th Wonder of the Modern World. Maybe it was the fact that I had not had such sweetness for five weeks, but that ice cream was by far the best I’ve ever had.

In Psalm 81, God is disappointed in His people. You can almost hear the heavenly sigh as God says, “Oh, that My people would listen to Me!” Why? He lists off all the good things that could have happened if Israel had turned from their lusts to serve God. He would’ve subdued their every enemy and given them total victory. Beyond that, He would’ve fed them with the finest wheat known to man as well as delectable honey. Like that ice cream, honey out of a rock was the very best the ancient world had to offer as far as sweetness. And God would’ve given them to it in abundance. And you know what’s even more incredible? He says He would have satisfied them!

Satisfaction seems to be a hard thing to come by these days. You can’t buy it off Amazon, and it’s nowhere to be found on iTunes. Search for it on Google and you’ll get some TV show or ways to get “customer satisfaction.” The TV ads and billboards claim to offer it, but you’re left with a broken product, looking for your receipt. The Internet claims to be the Satisfaction Supercenter—you can fulfill every lust you ever had with a click of a button. But you’ll still leave, after hours and hours…unfulfilled. Unsatisfied.

Why? Because, like Israel, you’ve rejected God to look for satisfaction in anything and everything else. And God is sitting up in heaven sighing because of your rejection.

He has so much to offer. Love. Mercy. Purpose. Hope, Yes, His very own Son Who died for all of your lusts! Though at times it seems so hard and uncomfortable to choose to obey His words, yet He assures you that He offers the best of the best. Every other perceived pleasure will quickly fade. But His gifts and blessings will last. They will truly satisfy. In Africa, as I ate whatever ice cream we could find, I thought I’d found the best. But then I went to Switzerland and found the real stuff to satisfy a sweet tooth. Why would I be content with store-bought ice cream from the third world when I could have the hand-made chocolaty goodness from the Lindt store?

I ask again: why would you keep pursuing the fleeting pleasures of the world when God stands there ready to give you the goodness of Heaven itself if you but turn to Him? Watch the pure honey drip out of the rock and rest assured: He has all you need.

Satisfaction guaranteed.

-Matthew W., SC

Adam4d.com The most powerful comic I’ve ever seen
Leave a Reply

