Only Jesus

Keep Calm and Read a Psalm Based on Colossians 1:15-27:

The image of a God not seen
Came down to be firstborn.
The One who fashioned this world’s scheme
Went down to face the scorn.
He is the One Who holds in place
This earth on which He lived.
He holds the right to be first place,
Yet came His life to give.

Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
May my cry forever be.
Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Christ is before everything.

Head of the church He came to save,
He’s God e’er time began.
He is the firstborn from the grave–
Preeminent He stands.
All fullness dwells in Him alone,
Yet He became a Man.
He longs for all to be atoned
By Cross where His Blood ran.

Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
May my cry forever be.
Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Christ is before everything.

Though in my mind I hated Him
And did what He abhorred,
He boldly faced a cross so grim
My friendship to secure.
Yet by sin I’m so attracted
From Christ Who gives me bliss.
How could I be so distracted
From such a faith as this?

Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
May my cry forever be
Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Christ is before everything.

This Christ in me, what glorious hope–
Why would I turn from Him?
A mystery beyond time’s scope
Has been revealed to men.
What sin could be so charming?
What lusts could satisfy
More than a God so loving
Who for such sin did die?

Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
May my cry forever be
Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Christ will be my everything.

-Matthew W., SC

Leave a Reply

