Echoing the Stars

Keep Calm and Read a Psalm 19:1:

“The heavens declare the glory of God;
and the firmament shows his handiwork.”

I read this verse for the first time when I was about nine years old and helping my dad study his lines for a church production. I loved this verse, and I thought it was pretty true, because yeah, those six stars in the sky and my mom’s flowers out back were really, really amazing! Of course it wasn’t until this city kid went to camp and got to experience singing “I Sing the Mighty Power of God” around a campfire in the middle of the woods that I really understood this verse.

My understanding of God’s awesomeness has only increased as I study science here at college. The intricate way that this entire world is set up is absolutely astounding. I was privileged to go on a trip with my parents to Hawaii a few summers ago, and while we were there, we went to the Mauna Loa observatory on the Big Island. The mountain that it sits on is far away from any big city and rises above the clouds, so at night there is nothing to prevent one from seeing all the stars in the night sky. The view of the sky from the observatory is pictured at the top of the post. My parents and I were able to view Saturn through a telescope (It kind of looked like someone stuck a sticker of Saturn on the lens). And the cloudy part of the sky? The guide told us that’s actually the Milky Way!

For the unsaved person, especially someone who studies science intricately, the response to this astounding world is to glorify science. And science is amazing, but it’s even more amazing to the Christian because it was thought out by an amazing God! For the believer, the only response that makes sense is to echo with all of creation the glory of God!

-Stephanie B., IL

Leave a Reply

